Virtual Assistant 2.0: Upgrading My VA Skills With Jomar Hilario’s Virtual Careers Summit & Seminar (Date With Freedom) – Part 1

Last May 29-30, 2015 was the culmination of the series of live seminars led by Jomar Hilario and his team which aimed to teach people how to have a virtual career. Dubbed as “Date With Freedom”, Jomar and several speakers and guests shared invaluable tips on how to jump start your career as a virtual assistant, or as what Jomar would prefers to call it, virtual professionals. The seminar was held in the beautiful and cozy Ace Hotel in Pasig City, Philippines. Before I give details about the seminar, I would like to mention as early as now that attending this even is one of the best decisions I ever made in my life. I had a great experience and went home with so many exciting ideas on how I would start my own virtual career.

So how did I end up going to this seminar? Let me give you a little background. I have always been interested in working from home ever since I learned that It was possible. Back in 2012, I read in one of Brother Bo Sanchez’s email newsletters that his friend was conducting a seminar on how to work from home. At that time, I was a stressed out call center agent working the graveyard shift and I wanted to have a different job. Needless to say, I was very interested and clicked on the link which redirected me to this friend’s website. As you may have guessed it, the friend was Jomar Hilario and in his website, his website had so many buttons showing delicious words like “Work from Home”, “Earn Dollars At Home”, “Work Sa Bahay”, etc. I did not know who Jomar Hilario was but the fact that he had a picture together with Bo Sanchez and that Bo Sanchez, a man I idolize and respect so much (I am a Feast attendee and servant), endorsed him made me trust the guy. So I attended his Virtual Assistant seminar with my sister. To cut the long story short, there were so many obstacles (mostly in my mind) before I so did not get to pursue a virtual career back in 2012. It would be one of the minor regrets I have but then again, I know that things happen for a reason.

Fast forward to three years later, I was ready to quit my corporate job and to strike it out on my own as a freelancer. All these years, Jomar Hilario’s courses were in my mind and I vowed to sign up should the next one come up. I actually am subscribed to his newsletters but for three years I did not take action regarding his emails. Eventually, I made the decision to move on from job as a corporate supervisor by April 2015. I saw that Jomar will have another work at home seminar on May 2015. That time, I did not hesitate. I clicked the “Buy” button with passion. And so, last Friday and Saturday, there I was in Ace Hotel listening to Jomar and his excellent panel of speakers. One my next post, I will tell you how the seminar went.

Date With Freedom 2015

Leave a Reply

