Emotional Why

So this year, I have been terribly busy. I was not able to blog as much as I wanted to. For some of my blogs, they were last touched back in October 2012.

For much of 2013, I kind of focused on my corporate career. There was something that I was aiming for and I worked to achieve that. I work in one of the biggest Business Process Outsourcing (BPO) companies in the world.   I started working as customer service associate in November 2009 then  got promoted as a subject-matter expert taking escalated calls in February 2011. I was finally promoted to a Team Leader (TL) in my company. I became a probationary TL in May 2013 then became a bonafide TL in September 2013. I work in the night shift. My 9-hour shift is usually from 9, 10, or 11 PM MLA to 6, 7, or 8 am MLA. Being a TL is a challenging task. Team Leaders in BPO  companies are notorious for rendering long overtime. And I mean, ooooovertime. I usually go home 2-3 hours after my shift ends. There are days when I stay as long as 5-6 hours just to finish my truckload of tasks.

I would have to say that this is the exact reason I want to be a freelancer. I want to be able to spend more time with my family, friends, and my spiritual community. I sometimes feel that life is just passing me by. Don’t get me wrong. The things that I do in the office is OK. The job is OK. The salary is OK. And the people are wonderful. But I feel that I should be spending more precious time with/on the people/things that really matter to me.

I know that I have a lot of skills that will be useful in getting me in an income-generating venture. I am great with administrative tasks and I have creativity in me. I am also very responsible and aim for excellence in everything that I do. I am always on the lookout for jobs in Elance and oDesk. Hopefully, I would finally be able to find that online job that would make use of my talents.

image taken from launchyourself.co

Leave a Reply

